Christmas and New Year Rubbish & Recycling

At this time of the year, the Bank Holidays for Christmas and New Year mean changes to the usual rubbish and recycling collections in Oadby and Wigston.

Here are the details of the changes for this year:

Christmas Day Monday 25th December: glass and cooking oil will be collected on Monday 8th January. Recycling at communal flats usually collected on this day will be collected within 2 weeks.

Boxing Day Tuesday 26th December: refuse, recycling and textiles will be collected on Tuesday 2nd January (double collection day); glass and cooking oil will be collected on Tuesday 9th January.

Wednesday 27 December: refuse, recycling and textiles will be collected on Wednesday 3rd January (double collection day); glass and cooking oil will be collected on Wednesday 10th January.

New Year Changes

New Years Day: Monday 1st January: refuse, recycling and textiles collected on Monday 8th January; glass and cooking oil collected on Monday 15th January.

Full details of refuse and recycling collections are on the Oadby and Wigston Borough Council site. Don’t forget that you can also recycle at the Oadby Tip and at sites across the Borough.

‘Flu Vaccination Reminder

Don’t forget that it is the time of the year when ‘flu is more likely to be about. “At risk” groups can get a free ‘flu jab.

These groups are if you: are aged 65 or over; are pregnant; have certain medical conditions, are living in a long-stay residential care home or other long-stay care facility; receive a carer’s allowance, or you are the main carer for an elderly or disabled person whose welfare may be at risk if you fall ill.

Contact your GP surgery for more information.